Practical Magic(k)

The Essential Crystals to Activate Your Chakra System

In certain Indian religions, it is believed that we all have seven centers of spiritual power in the human body called chakras. These energetic points relate to various emotions and when our chakras are fully aligned, it allows us to be spiritually centered, grounded, and fully at peace.

Breath-work and yoga are two ways to activate and align your chakras, but you can also activate chakras through crystal healing. The list below explains how each chakra works, and which corresponding crystal works best for activation. Enjoy, and feel free to share your thoughts below!

The first chakra, is called your base/root chakra (sanskrit: Muladhara, meaning root or support) – this chakra is located by your perineum (in between your anus/genitals). The corresponding colors to this chakra are red and black, and the energy focus is stability, grounding, physical energy, will and security. This chakra can be activated with the following stones:

  • Hematite
  • Black Obsidian
  • Black Tourmaline
  • Red Zincite
  • Garnet
  • Smoky Quartz

The second chakra is called the sacral chakra (sanskrit: Svadhisthana, or “sweetness”), and is located below the navel. The corresponding colors to this chakra are orange or blue-green, and the energy focus is creativity, healing, sexuality, reproduction, emotion, intuition and desire. The following stones activate this chakra center:

  • Orange Calcite
  • Vanadinite
  • Carnelian
  • Blue-green Turquoise
  • Blue-green Flourite

The third chakra is called the solar plexus and is located at the solar plexus area (below the breast bone) its sanskrit name is Manipura or lustrous gem. The color of this chakra center is yellow, and the corresponding energies are intellect, ambition, personal power, and protection. To activate this area, you may do so using the following crystals:

  • Citrine
  • Yellow Jasper
  • Golden Calcite

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra (sanskrit: Anahata or “unstruck”), and is located in your heart space. Its corresponding colors are pink and green – and the energies envelop feelings of love, compassion, universal consciousness and emotional balance. To activate this area using crystals, these are ideal:

  • Rose Quartz
  • Pink Rubellite
  • Tourmaline
  • Watermelon Tourmaline
  • Green Aventurine
  • Malachite
  • Jade

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra, located at the neck above the collar bone. In sanskrit it is called Vishudha or “purification”, and it is represented by the color blue. It is tied to the energies of communication, expression and divine guidance. To activate the throat chakra, consider the following crystals:

  • Sodalite
  • Blue Calcite
  • Blue Kyanite
  • Angelite
  • Blue Turquoise

The sixth chakra is known as the third eye chakra, located above the eyebrows at the medulla. In sanskrit this is called Ajna (to perceive, to know) and is represented by the color indigo. The energies around this center correspond to spiritual awareness, psychic power, intuition and light. The following crystals are ideal for activation:

  • Lapis Lazuli
  • Azurite
  • Moldavite
  • Sugilite
  • Amethyst

The seventh chakra is called the crown chakra, Sahasrara, or “Thousandfold” in sanskrit. It is represented by the colors violet or golden-white, and relates to enlightenment, cosmic-consciousness, energy and perfection. Crystals for activation are as follows:

  • Amethyst
  • White Calcite
  • Topaz
  • Quartz Crystal
  • Moonstone

Special thanks to Sirena Bernal for providing the sanskrit names and extra resources, be sure to visit her website by clicking here.

You Might Also Like...